Trending What's popular - Latest international news headlines, pictures, and video


54 DCC Chairpersons appointed

The presidential media unit announced that all 54 chairpersons of the District Coordinating Committees have been appointed.

They received appointment letters through President Maithreepala Sirisena yesterday.

A few SLFP ministers who were active in the joint opposition have been appointed.

Co Chairpersons for the District Coordinating Committee have been appointed obtaining a ministerial representation from both SLFP and the UNP.

Former Speaker, Chamal Rajapakse who represented the Hambantota district has been appointed as a co chairperson of the District Coordinating Committee.

In addition, the presidential media united noted that Members of Parliament, Janaka Bandara Tennakoon, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Sumedha G. Jayasena and Geetha Kumarasinghe have been appointed from the SLFP as Chairpersons of the committee.

Meanwhile, Communist party member, Minister Chandrasiri Gajadeera has been appointed as the Matara district coordinating committee chairperson representing the joint opposition.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...