Sri Lanka Trending English News - Latest international news headlines, pictures, and video


Sanath Jayasuriya returns as Sri Lanka chief selector

Former Sri Lanka captain and chairman of selectors Sanath Jayasuriya heads a four-member cricket selection committee that will function from May 1 for a period of one year.

Former cricketers Romesh Kaluwitharana and Ranjith Madurasinghe are retained in the new committee from the previous one headed by Aravinda de Silva.

Jayasuriya and Eric Upashantha, a former Sri Lanka fast bowler replace Kumar Sangakkara and De Silva from the previous committee that was appointed for a period of 40 days ending April 30 to oversee the selection of the squad to the ICC World T20 where Sri Lanka fared poorly failing to defend the title they won in 2014.

The selection committee: Sanath Jayasuriya (chairman), Romesh Kaluwitharana, Ranjith Madurasinghe and Eric Upashantha.