Sri Lanka Trending English News - Latest international news headlines, pictures, and video


Muralitharan first Sri Lankan in ICC Hall of Fame

Record-breaking off-spinner Muralidaran will become the first Sri Lankan player to be inducted in ICC Hall of Fame.

The International Cricket Council today announced that Muttiah Muralidaran, Karen Rolton, Arthur Morris and George Lohmann will be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame later this year.

Along with Muralidaran, twice ICC Women’s World Cup winner and former Australia women’s captain Karen Rolton, her compatriot Arthur Morris, a member of Don Bradman’s ‘invincibles’ and England’s George Lohmann, the 19th century fast bowler who took 100 wickets in just 16 Tests, will be inducted.

The four iconic cricketers were voted by the ICC Cricket Hall of Famers as well as members of the media. They will be presented with commemorative caps honouring their contribution to the game to mark their induction. Family members will represent Lohmann and Morris at the presentations. (ICC)